Alabama Launches New Personhood Amendment

Baby 4 - rocknroli_2

On February 24th, Alabama Representative Ed Henry (R) introduced a bill (HB300) calling for an amendment to the Alabama Constitution recognizing that all prenatal children are persons under the law. The proposed amendment declares that:

 The term “persons” as used in the Code of Alabama 1975, shall include any human being from the moment of fertilization or the functional equivalent thereof.

HB300 already has 37 sponsors in the House and several senators have pledged to sponsor companion legislation in the Senate. Constitutional amendments require a three-fifths majority from both houses before being submitted for a vote of the people. This means that Rep. Henry’s bill will need support from 63 members of the House of Representatives and 21 Senators.  Please contact your senators and representatives today to encourage them to vote for this amendment.

HB300 is currently being reviewed by the House Health Committee chaired by April Weaver (R) of Shelby County. The members of the committee include Mike Millican (R), John Knight (D), Elaine Beech (D), Danny Crawford (R), Matt Fridy (R), Laura Hall (D), Ron Johnson (R), Paul W. Lee (R), Arnold Mooney (R), Becky Nordgren (R), Pebblin W. Warren (D), and Jack W. Williams (R). It is vitally important that we contact these committee members and urge them to approve HB300 as it is currently written.

We expect HB300 to receive great opposition from in vitro fertilization (IVF) clinics throughout the state as well as the Birmingham based National Infertility Association (RESOLVE). RESOLVE has already pledged to lobby against the amendment and to force the Health Committee to change the amendment to only protect prenatal children after they have been implanted in the womb. This change would allow IVF clinics to continue the barbaric and completely unnecessary practice of killing “undesirable” children in the embryonic stage of life.

Click here to read Personhood Alabama’s Position Statement on In Vitro Fertilization.

We need your help!  Personhood Alabama does not have a paid lobbyist to defend HB300 against these attacks. Our organization is composed entirely of volunteers like you who donate their time and effort for the noble cause of protecting prenatal children. We need as many of you as possible to contact the members of the Health Committee not just once but many times to encourage them to do what they already know is the right thing to do. Approve HB300 as it is written! Please use the methods below to contact the members of the House Health Committee as often as you can.

April Weaver (R):  334-242-7731  april.weaver@alhouse.gov

Mike Millican (R):  334-242-7534  mike.millican@alhouse.gov

John Knight (D):  334-242-7512  john.knight@alhouse.gov

Elaine Beech (D):  334-242-7702  elainebeech83@gmail.com

Danny Crawford (R):  334-242-7600  danny.crawford@alhouse.gov

Matt Fridy (R):  334-242-7775  mdfridy@gmail.com

Laura Hall (D):  334-242-7688  laura.hall@alhouse.gov

Ron Johnson (R):  334-242-7777  ronald.johnson@alhouse.gov

Paul W. Lee (R):  334-242-7675 pwlee@graceba.net

Arnold Mooney (R):  334-242-7744  arnold.mooney@alhouse.gov

Becky Nordgren (R):  334-353-9032  rebeccasnordgren@gmail.com

Pebblin W. Warren (D):  334-242-7734  tiger9127@bellsouth.net

Jack W. Williams (R):  334-242-7694  jackwilliams55@icloud.com

Matthew 18_14 Web

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s